Southerners are NOT “Dumb Hicks” – A New Low for Proponents of Anthropogenic Global Warming?

Ethnic slurs have no place in the global warming debate.

I’d like to thank all of those who provided comments (positive or negative) about my video We Now Control Weather — Extreme Heat Events, Dirty Weather, Climate Disasters at my blog, at the cross post at WattsUpWithThat, and on the YouTube webpage. Of course, I appreciate the positive comments. However, it may surprise some of you that I also enjoy when proponents of anthropogenic global warming try to dismiss my findings—it allows me to point out their errors and their misunderstandings. That’s easy to do since they’ve been spreading the same misinformation about El Niño and La Niña for the 3 1/2+ years I’ve been presenting their realities.

What I had not anticipated was an ethnic smear presented by a blogger in a recent comment. It was on the very long thread of Jennifer Marohasy’s most recent post Gone Fishing. As of today, there are more than 2100 comments on that thread, so you may have trouble opening that link.

Apparently, a proponent of manmade global warming named Luke believes someone is a “dumb hick” if they speaking slowly with a Southern twang. Luke attempted to downplay my video when it was commented on positively and linked to that thread by blogger Neville.

Comment from: Neville  October 4th, 2012 at 9:08 am

Great new video by Bob Tisdale on youtube.

http://wattsupwiththat.com/2012/10/03/bob-tisdales-dirty-weather-control-video-rated-rr/#more-71885

Luke replied:

Comment from: Luke  October 4th, 2012 at 10:41 am

That thar would be one of them thar dumb hick videos for ning nongs like Neville and Kookers.
Ya haw !

What we do is we get some dumb hick to preee-sent on some memes and crap and them thar dumb hicks buy it ! And hey dudes buy my book – yee hah ! (BTW I’m not published coz I can’t)

Yaa haw !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxD0PqVlt5Q

I’ve been called worse than a “dumb hick” in the global warming debate but I was offended by Luke’s comment. My reply:

Comment from: Bob Tisdale  October 7th, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Luke says: “That thar would be one of them thar dumb hick videos for ning nongs like Neville and Kookers”.

Obviously, Luke, you personally are incapable of finding fault in what this “dumb hick” has presented.

Here’s another link to the video:

Give it a shot. Prove me wrong. Here’s a link to the source I used for the HADISST:
http://climexp.knmi.nl/selectfield_obs.cgi?someone@somewhere
And here’s a link to the CMIP3 multi-model model TOS outputs:
http://climexp.knmi.nl/selectfield_co2.cgi?id=someone@somewhere

You’ll discover I present what the models and data show, and if that contradicts your personal assumptions about anthropogenic global warming, maybe your assumptions are ill founded.

BTW, I never had the urge to watch “Dukes of Hazzard”. Do you enjoy the show? Or was your comment a lame attempt at ethnic humor? If so, it was as miserable as the scientific competence you, Luke, present here at this blog.

Have a nice day.

A subsequent comment by Luke included his reply to me:

Comment from: Luke  October 7th, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Tisdale get published or sod off. I’m not going to bother with any of your unpublished rat-dirt.

For those not familiar with “sod off” refer to the Wikipedia definition.

To which I responded:

Comment from: Bob TisdaleOctober 8th, 2012 at 12:32 am

Luke replies: “Tisdale get published or sod off. I’m not going to bother with any of your unpublished rat-dirt.”

This is the answer I expected from someone of your ilk, Luke. Your reliance on ethnic slurs and insults highlights your inabilities and the feebleness of your arguments. Everyone reading this thread understands that but you, Luke.

The errors in the Trenberth and Fasullo paper that I brought to light should have been caught in peer review, not in a blog post…
http://bobtisdale.wordpress.com/2012/09/20/a-blog-memo-to-kevin-trenberth-ncar/
…or in a video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CM7IUkvT_Zg

Please advise those reading this thread what value peer review provided in this case, Luke.

That’s as far as the discussion has gone as of this writing.

The irony: I’m not from the South, as any Southerner who listened to my video would likely tell you. I was born well north of the Mason-Dixon Line. I did, however, live a long time in the South and it wasn’t that long ago. When I narrated the video, I slowed my normal delivery and tried to annunciate better. Those efforts and the time I spent in the South resulted in the twang, which Luke mistook for the accent of a Southerner.

Now you’re probably wondering why I’m offended. It could be argued that Luke was calling me stupid. That would offend anyone, especially when the person who’s doing the insulting has no knowledge of the subject matter and no bases for his insults. It could also be argued that Luke was stereotyping and calling anyone with a Southern accent stupid. I still have loads of friends in the South and I also have many friends in the North with what some would consider Southern accents. They would find Luke’s remarks insulting, and so do I. My Southern friends and those with Southern accents are definitely not stupid people—just the opposite. Last, the global warming debate is no place for ethnic slurs.

In fact, there is no place for ethnic slurs.

About Bob Tisdale

Research interest: the long-term aftereffects of El Niño and La Nina events on global sea surface temperature and ocean heat content. Author of the ebook Who Turned on the Heat? and regular contributor at WattsUpWithThat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Southerners are NOT “Dumb Hicks” – A New Low for Proponents of Anthropogenic Global Warming?

  1. Anthony Watts says:

    You waste too much time of these anonymous cowards like “Luke” who has a long history of verbal abuse in many Australian climate forums.

    It wouldn’t matter if you published it, and/or had a PhD with honors like Lindzen, he’ll treat you just the same way if your premsie/data/paper disagrees with him. Just look at how they treat Dr. Lndzen, Dr. Pielke, Dr. Christy and others over at the Australian forum “Sceptical Science”.

    Until “Luke” has the courage to put his name behind his smears, his opinion isn’t worth a bucket of warm spit. Best to simply ignore him

  2. charliexyz says:

    “Southerners are NOT “Dumb Hicks ”

    Nor are Newfies.

    Sorry. but I just couldn’t resist.

    Please don’t get too worked up and upset by Luke and his ilk. Just remember that personal attacks are what people resort to when they don’t have facts to support their arguments.

  3. Pascvaks says:

    Bob-
    I’ve said it a few times over the past couple years, you’re too good for your own good. I’d have… (self edited;-)… the sorry… (self edited;-). But you’re a better man than I am Gunga Din.

    ” So I’ll meet ‘im later on
    At the place where ‘e is gone
    Where it’s always double drill and no canteen.
    ‘E’ll be squattin’ on the coals
    Givin’ drink to poor damned souls,
    An’ I’ll get a swig in hell from Gunga Din!
    Yes, Din! Din! Din!
    You Lazarushian-leather Gunga Din!
    Though I’ve belted you and flayed you,
    By the livin’ Gawd that made you,
    You’re a better man than I am, Gunga Din!”

  4. If accents cause him to throw rocks
    What would he make of the main man
    With the accent right off New York docks:
    The Bronx of Richard Feynman?

    ===|===============/ Keith DeHavelle

  5. Bob Tisdale says:

    Anthony: You know how hard it is to back away from an argument. Sometimes it’s difficult just to walk away.

  6. Bob Tisdale says:

    charliexyz: At my age, getting worked up in an argument is a form of aerobics

  7. Bob Tisdale says:

    Pascvaks: I can guarantee you I’m no Gunga Din. You only get to see what’s written, not what I verbalize. The latter makes me smile, but it would drastically change the complexion of this blog if I were to include it here.

  8. Bob Tisdale says:

    Keith DeHavelle: Curiously, if I did not slow down my delivery, that is precisely how I would sound.

  9. Luke says:

    Well well – now Tisdale’s into verballing – he could get a job on an Australian state police force. What’s this dross about Southerners and “ethnicity”. When is being a dumb hick an ethnicity. Southerners ? well yes people from South Australia not being of convict stock and better breeding who pronounce plants and dance as plarnts and darnce, do talk funny and eats crows I believe. I was love people like Watts (whose tedious seminars I have had the misfortune to endure on 2 occasions although I restrained myself unlike other audience members) making pronouncements about blog behaviour when his own den is a sea of insults. And he seems to indulge a range of anonymous cowardly comments himself (but maybe it’s my sensitive ethnicity acting up again). But give him his due unlike our Bob he’s getting published.

    But I guess I’ve been dobbed in by our lil’ Aussie snitch Neville. Who has broken the Aussie rule that you don’t dob on your mates (jeez I just thought maybe he’s not my mate – wow!) even if they’ve been sledging. But Neville can’t help it as he needs to be told what to think.

    However if Bob feels that I have somehow insulted his intelligence or his country-men (thank heavens I didn’t say sepos, or ning nong or galoot – if I’d has a few beers I might have you know) or implies an ethnicity insult – (is the Tea Party an ethnicity BTW) well I’m sorry. But Anthony did tell me once when I was personally briefed about death threats to climate scientists I know to “harden up”. But let’s not be judged by standards of others – I’m sorry Bob.

    Anyway Bob would like me to check his homework. But really who can be bothered. So much sceptic nonsense – such little time. Now if the said work had run the gauntlet of publication – well it could well be worth a look. Of course Bob may have some points too but of course it’s always what you’ve left out. But I think it’s beholden on serious critics of papers who themselves want to engage at a robust level of scientific discourse and publicly attack others to get published. So what do we have – institutional scientists subject to the highest level of probity requirements and some blog dude gets the same level of cred taking a shot. So on one side someone has to crawl over broken glass and barbed wire to get written up and published (ask Anthony) and something else can just trot along and expect the same level of attention? Come on ! Lets apply the same level of rigour to brain surgery (I have a few ideas – so can I have a wack at it?) or nuclear power (I’m sure my cardboard reactor won’t leak).

  10. John (in Oz) says:

    Bob,
    I’m one Aussie that appreciates the efforts of yourself and your peers (Anthony et al rather than the cAGW ‘climate’ scientists) and I’m still wading through the copious pages of your book, peer-reviewed or not.
    Ignore the daft dingbats like Luke.

  11. Bob Tisdale says:

    Luke: Thanks for stopping by. Now my readers don’t have to wait for the long thread at Jennifer’s blog to open. They can experience one of your comments here first hand.

    If you’re not aware, Luke, “ethnic” is defined as “of or relating to large groups of people classed according to common racial, national, tribal, religious, linguistic, or cultural origin or background”.
    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/ethnic

    I’m sure those visiting here who you offended will appreciate the effort you made with your apology, they may not accept it, but they’ll appreciate it to some degree.

  12. Bob Tisdale says:

    John (in Oz): As I’ve noted before and as I’ll note again, satellite-era sea surface temperature data so contradicts the hypothesis of anthropogenic global warming that there’s no way my work would pass through the gauntlet of peer review. Considering how poorly peer review works with climate science-related papers, there is no reason to make the effort.

    Added: Thanks for buying my book.

  13. tallbloke says:

    OK, so lets analyse the scientific content of Luke’s comment.

    [....]

    There, that’s done. So now to his comparison of climatology with nuclear engineering, and brain surgery. The Engineering and medical fields have clearly defined standards and responsibility commitments. They have independent bodies which uphold those standards and conduct disciplinary hearings.

    Compare this with Phil Jones old mate Ron Oxburgh asking him which evidence he’d like his ‘inquiry’ to consider while ‘investigating’ his conduct.

  14. Luke says:

    Tallbloke – nice sledging but irrelevant – you wouldn’t have some amateur playing with your cranium I’m sure. Or perhaps you have – maybe your comments are rational after all.

    and “conduct disciplinary hearings” – like with whips? You guys seem to like disciplinary hearings. Part of whole threatening thing I guess.

    So Bob – you have verballed me and projected your internal view and then editorialised it. Verballing is also poor form Bob. And all those years ago on Jen’s blog you said you’d get back to me and never did.

  15. tallbloke says:

    Luke’s lips are still flapping but nothing of any substance emerges. Are all his comments this vacuous Bob? Glad you found the SST correlation with Solar+AMO-SOI interesting by the way.
    http://tallbloke.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/model-hadsst3.png

    Do you do any data investigation Luke? Too busy talking crap I guess.

  16. roger says:

    No one should be surprised that [snip] have convictions. Neither should they be surprised that those convictions were/are based on the flimsiest of evidence. Nor that the punishment/remedy should have been/be so disproportionate.
    Stupid is as stupid does, and UK and Australia are in the vanguard of climate stupidity whilst other nations pull back from the abyss. It’s the oceans, stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. Luke says:

    Now Bob you have some great mates. Roger here has now written us all off in the antipodes as convicts. Now being of Australian ethnicity Bob – I demand an apology and a retraction as this has deeply offended me. And incredibly hypocritical as he has now offended at least 50% of Australians. Why did you let him publish that with your “standards”?

    “In fact, there is no place for ethnic slurs.” yah !

    Tallbloke – nah mate on data investigation – I just like confronting shonky sceptics for sport. They offend me. I see you’re another dabbler in the black arts – why don’t you regress the distance from your jaw to the floor – has to be correlated with something.

  18. Bob Tisdale says:

    Luke says: “Why did you let him publish that with your ‘standards’?”

    I’ve snipped the portion of Roger’s comment that offended you, Luke . Why did I leave it in until you complained? To prove a point and you responded as expected. Are we clear now?

  19. BillC says:

    Having a southern twang definitely seems to increase one’s odds in the POTUS competition.

  20. Luke says:

    No you didn’t Bob. You don’t create/leave another atrocity to prove a point – you’re just using that as an excuse. I’m still offended – “Stupid is as stupid does, and UK and Australia are in the vanguard of climate stupidity” – how dare he assert my countrymen are in the majority stupid. It’s outrageous.

    Bob – tell you what – I’m not offended at all – put convict back in – it’s true and funny. I’m just pretentiously bunging it on like you are. But unlike hicks Aussies aren’t sooks. If you’re going to editorialise every bit of sledging and stirring well you’re far too touchy.

    Good bye, Luke. You’re wasting my time here, too, just as you do at Jennifer Marohasy’s.

    Bob

  21. Streetcred says:

    Luke is a total embarrassment to all rational and educated Australians, I can’t apologise enough other than to say that isolation in the farthest extremes of the Antipodes can cause irrational belief in one’s intellectual capacity. This is manifest in a ‘smart tongue’ and vague or no factual support.

  22. Godric says:

    I have no PHD or any science backgroud and when the boffs start number crunching and argueing over data sets ect, i glaze over . I never bought into the climate terror back in the early nineties and have harded my stance even further since then. When i was at school in scotland the eco terror was acid rain. remember acid rain? well all the trees in scotland should be dead by now. Forget all the data, funding, and the world of science what really baffles me is the total detachment from rational individual behaviour the followers of the green church have. I once said on facebook some thing to the effect of ..oh jeez, just what the world needs, another eco lawyer. bet she wont die poor. well… i might as well have stood in the middle of Qom shouting terrible things about the big guy upstairs. What an avalanche of mad cobblers i got from the die hard hippies. Apparently were all going to die, die i tell you, DIE. Terminated my account for a time in response .Im waiting for the first green suicide bomber.

    Cheer up Mr Tisdale, i love you, in a manly handshake and back slap kinda way.

Leave a Reply

