NOAA NOMADS Appears to be Down…For Service?

UPDATE, a week later (Monday, October 6):  NOMADS is still down. I emailed one of the NOAA scientists who deal with the Reynolds OI SST data and I’m awaiting a reply. I’ll let you know.

# # #

This weekend, I have had no success reaching the NOAA NOMAD1 server…

http://nomad1.ncep.noaa.gov/cgi-bin/pdisp_sst.sh

…or the NOMAD3 server (which had not been accessible for a few months)…

http://nomad3.ncep.noaa.gov/cgi-bin/pdisp_sst.sh?lite=

…for Reynolds sea surface temperature data.

I suspect NOMAD1 is down for service. Hopefully, one of them will be back online tomorrow, Monday, September 29. Otherwise, the preliminary sea surface temperature update will be delayed.

About Bob Tisdale

Research interest: the long-term aftereffects of El Niño and La Nina events on global sea surface temperature and ocean heat content. Author of the ebook Who Turned on the Heat? and regular contributor at WattsUpWithThat.
This entry was posted in SST Update. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to NOAA NOMADS Appears to be Down…For Service?

  1. Thanks for letting us know, Bob.
    Please keep up your excellent ENSO work!

  2. Bill Illis says:

    Nomad2 is working for me. I changed my bookmark link to nomad2 awhile ago when I was having similar problems.

    http://nomad2.ncep.noaa.gov/ncep_data/index.html

  3. Bill Illis says:

    Nevermind, tried it again right after and it wouldn’t work the second time so some issue is going on.

  4. Bob Tisdale says:

    Thanks, Bill. I just tried NOMAD2 again and I can confirm your findings.

    Cheers.

  5. SJ Ahmed says:

    Any body around here who may tell us the exact problem with nomad1.ncep.noaa.gov, nomad2.ncep.noaa.gov, nomad3.ncep.noaa.gov, nomad5.ncep.noaa.gov, nomad6.ncep.noaa.gov and when these or any one server may up. Thanks for cooperations

  6. Bob Tisdale says:

    SJ Ahmed, I seem to recall the NOMADS server being off line for a week around this time in past years. I suspect they’ve shut down the servers for maintenance. If they are not back on-line on Monday, I’ll send them an email.

    Depending on the dataset you’re using, it may be accessible at the KNMI Climate Explorer, though the base years might be different:
    http://climexp.knmi.nl/selectfield_obs.cgi?someone@somewhere

    Cheers

  7. Green Sand says:

    Bob, many thanks for the update

  8. Green Sand says:

    Bob, might be related, I had a problem accessing another NOAA data set. Asked the question and received an immediate email reply “This is owing to a major internal network and server reconfiguration that occurred about a week ago.”

    Having been on the wrong end of such “reconfigurations” it might be awhile:-)

  9. Bob Tisdale says:

    Thanks, Green Sand. For the next ENSO update, I can work around the loss of the NOMADS system.

  10. SJ Ahmed says:

    Still waiting for NOMAD3. I am user of GFS 1×1 forecast dataset. Upper air wind, temperature, RH, LFTX, Vertical velocity through web based plot (GrADS). Plz help me regarding alternate online resource.

  11. Bob Tisdale says:

    SJ Ahmed, sorry, in a follow-up post I noted that I received a reply from NOAA and they were expecting NOMADS to be off-line for an extended period of time and provided no timetable for its return.

    I had to rely on the KNMI Climate Explorer for sea surface temperature data…
    http://climexp.knmi.nl/selectfield_obs.cgi?someone@somewhere

    But I do not believe they have the GFS forecast data. Have you tried the IRI website?

  12. Bob Tisdale says:

    Thanks for the link, Agustin. NOMADS was very simple to use. The user entered 4 map coordinates and the system produced the data in time-series format. Unfortunately, I haven’t found that capability in what you’ve linked.

    Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

