Looking For Ideas

UPDATE (November 8, 2011, about 10:15pm eastern): Sincere thanks to the blog hosts who have provided links here; to those who have spent the time to read my post; to those who have shared their humor, thoughts, suggestions, experiences, and well-wishes, all of which will be considered and drawn upon as I continue my search; and to those who have contributed to the tip jar.

Sorry that I have not replied to your comments, but rest assured they have all been read and will be considered many times in the coming weeks and months. Also, I have managed, up to now, to keep my personal information from becoming general internet information, and I will attempt to continue to do so, so the requests for my email address or copies of my résumé will go unanswered. Thank you for the interest, though.

The traffic here has been unbelievable. It’s been less than 12 hours since Anthony Watts linked to this post, and the referrals to it from WattsUpWithThat are, in that ½ day, about 10 times my normal daily page views for all pages at both of my websites. Amazing. The links to this post from blogs other than WUWT have provided twice my normal volume. Remarkable.

Again, thanks to all.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Nope. I’m not looking for ideas for blog posts. I’ve got enough of a backlog of those to last for months. I’m coming out of retirement and, hopefully, going to go back to work, that nasty old four-letter word. I’ll be joining the millions looking for full-time gainful employment, and I’m considering it as an exciting opportunity. Who knows what the future brings?

Let me first say that I’m not going to stop blogging about the multiyear impacts of the El Niño-Southern Oscillation, or the shortcomings of coupled climate models, or the recent flattening of Ocean Heat Content, and the like. And I still intend to provide the monthly Sea Surface Temperature anomaly updates.I’m also not in a hurry to start something; things aren’t critical financially yet. I’m looking for ideas about what to do next that will generate some income. But isn’t everybody.

My recent history:

I have had the distinct pleasure for the past seven years of serving as caregiver for both of my parents. One passed away a number of years ago, the other one a number of months ago. In some respects, it was a 24/7 job. Due to their unsteadiness while walking and other factors, my time away from them was limited to one or two hours at a time. As long as I could hear them, I could respond. I’ve been married and divorced, no kids. So the past seven years allowed me to serve, in some respects, in a reversed-parenting role—well some of the responsibilities were the same. If circumstances and personalities permit, it is a job I would recommend to anyone. And when I’m talking about circumstances, make sure your retirement savings and pension can handle that load indefinitely. Pharmaceuticals and pacemaker-defibrillators can extent life much longer than you and your parents assumed and planned for. Much longer.

Housework, meal preparation, yard work, sorting meds, chauffeuring to the grocery store, doctors, etc., didn’t eat up the entire day, and that left me enough time to research and prepare blog posts. The work that goes into preparing many of my posts is actually very similar to a job I held early in my working career, back in the days when I worked at the headquarters of a Fortune 500 company. Then I wrote in-house reports and manuals and served as in-house consultant (the expert from far away) to their offices globally in a very specific, highly technical field. So preparing blog posts that discuss faults in the hypothesis of anthropogenic global warming as I do from time to time, with lots of illustrations and descriptions, is something I’m very familiar with and enjoy.

Just in case you’re thinking that blogging pays the bills, it doesn’t. Here are the specifics for my blogs: I’ve written over 400 posts since April 2008 that have included multiple thousands of graphs, maybe 100 .gif animations, and 32 YouTube videos. On a good day, I get 1000 hits at my blogs, on average about 500 per day. (Yup, blogs, plural. The original blogspot version is still getting hits.) Obviously, most of my exposure comes from Anthony Watts cross posting my posts at Watts Up With That?. (As always, thanks, Anthony.) Like many other bloggers on both sides of climate change, I have my Paypal link for tips. And I’m extremely grateful to the generous souls who have found that link. But, the total deposits to my tip jar over the years have come to less than $1.00 per post. That’s the reality of skeptical climate change blogging. As far as I know, there are no bloggers skeptical of climate change who blog for the money. And I can’t see how I could change that here, especially when one considers that some of my posts have taken weeks to prepare. There are no deep-pocket organizations that fund us. But just in case you’re from a deep-pocket organization, or you’re someone with oodles of money you like to give away, and you’re looking for me to continue writing posts skeptical of climate change on a full-time basis, now is the time to make that gazillion-dollar donation. Just click on Bob’s Paypal link for gazillion-dollar donations. (It’s worth a shot.)

I could try to increase traffic here by preparing posts more often, like daily, and run some ads. And I could present papers that I found interesting: Messié & Chavez, 2011: Global Modes of Sea Surface Temperature Variability in Relation to Regional Climate Indices,for example. I don’t disagree with their findings, based solely on the abstract, because they confirm that the PDO is an aftereffect of ENSO. But the paper is based on EOF analysis of a Sea Surface Temperature dataset (ERSST.v3b) that is infilled using a combination of EOF and EOT analyses. And I believe that observational data is not reinserted with ERSST.v3b. So how much of Messié & Chavez is an analysis of the infilling methods and not the actual source data itself? Wouldn’t HADSST2 or HADSST3, which are not infilled, have been better datasets to use? Posts like that would be relatively easy to prepare, but many papers are paywalled and in order to comment properly on them, I’d have to purchase the papers at $9.00 to $30.00 a pop. Now it’s a money-losing endeavor.

Write a book, you say? There’s no money in books on the subjects I present, especially when you consider the limited number of people interested in the multiyear impacts of ENSO or how poorly climate models hindcast surface temperatures and natural variables. They are few and far between. As a reference, my YouTube video with the most hits has been viewed 4800 times, and the reason for that is, it was the first illustration of my post and was displayed above the “Continue reading” break on the home page at WUWT for a few days. More than 3000 of those views came the first day at WUWT.

One of my options is to continue being a caregiver but for someone outside my family. Know anyone with limited mobility in need of that type of 24/7 (not nursing) service? It would be nice to be back up in the Northeast U.S., but I’m open to anywhere in the contiguous U.S.

And I’m open to other avenues, so if you have an idea, please leave a comment, or if you have a job opening you think might fit me, please provide a link. (Or if you’re one of those oil companies we hear so much about that fund climate skeptics, please make a donation.)

Now it’s time to go out and look for work the good old-fashioned way.

Regards

About Bob Tisdale

Research interest: the long-term aftereffects of El Niño and La Nina events on global sea surface temperature and ocean heat content. Author of the ebook Who Turned on the Heat? and regular contributor at WattsUpWithThat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Looking For Ideas

  1. Anthony Watts says:

    If I had a job for “graphmaster”, I’d hire you in a New York minute.

    I’ll see if I can help you out though.

  2. TheBigYinJames says:

    Good luck, Bob.

  3. Pingback: A note from Bob Tisdale | Watts Up With That?

  4. Scott Covert says:

    I trust with your reputation, you search will be short. Good luck.

  5. henrychance says:

    I enjoy your posts. Obviously Big Oil money just never happened.

  6. Max Hugoson says:

    Bob:

    Left the wallet at home. Will make the donation tonight. We LOVE you guy, you are so bright…and now to find out that you are a MAN OF HONOR, it’s the least we can do.

    I hope you folks in WUWT land take this man SERIOUSLY. If we could get 10,000 people to do $10, instead of WASTING HIS TIME behind a desk, he could be “discovering the secrets of the universe from a wrapper of a candy bar…” (Or better yet, from the DATA that is already out there, making MONKIES out of the “professionally paid” wonks.)

    Keep up the good work Bob!

    And my condolences on the pass of both your parents. HOWEVER, I’ve found (in the passing of my one of two) that WHEN YOU HAVE DONE YOUR DUTY…you MISS them, but you DON’T live with regrets!!! Instead, you LIVE FOR THE FUTURE. Which you know they’d want you to do!

  7. M.A.Vukcevic says:

    Good luck Bob, and all the best.

  8. denniswingo says:

    You know, I am still waiting for those darn checks from Exxon!

  9. Tom Bakewell says:

    I agree that being a caregiver for one’s parents is a most rewarding opportunity. Tough, but quite enriching. I wish you luck in your future activities.

    Tom Bakewell

  10. George says:

    I wonder if the folks at Weather Bell (Joe Bastardi and Joeseph D’Aleo et al) could use an “ocean guy”.

    http://www.weatherbell.com/team-bio/

    I am thinking a synergy here with your ocean expertise fitting in with their atmospheric expertise to make better long range forecasting.

  11. Hoser says:

    It’s tough out there. Best of luck. A stolen motto I have found very useful: “Never give up! Never surrender!” – Galaxy Quest. It helps to laugh a little when things get tough, but the point is, don’t ever quit. My serious motto is: Don’t crack. Once you decide that, you can get through anything.

  12. Caz in BOS says:

    LinkedIn is hiring aggressively and has ambitions to be a professional version of facebook. They may appreciate your blogging experience.

  13. Pascvaks says:

    Until now I knew next to nothing about you. I imagined you were an academic at some Super U, perhaps even one with Ivy on the walls. I thought you were ‘retired’ and couldn’t resist the temptation to keep the climate poker table as honest as possible. The more I read, and the little I increased in understanding of ocean temps and climate (measured in mini-micrograms), I thought you’d maybe retired from business or the military and were living the good life and probably in your mid 60’s. Your last name even made me wonder if you might have a blood-link to the family via Tisdales in SC. You kept pretty much a Harry Potter ‘Magic Cape’ about you from where I stood, and always seemed so ‘strickly business’ that I always wondered who you were. Thanks for sharing. If you ever wonder how big a dent you’ve made on the World via the internet, I think it’s been very great indeed. You’re a first class educator as well as a first class caregiver Bob Tisdale. I doubt I’ll be able to come up with anything helpful to suggest in the employment and income arena. Let me think about it. God bless and keep you. Good luck always. (And please keep on bloggin;-)

  14. fhhaynie says:

    It’s a long shot, but why not submit a grant proposal to NSF with the objective “Quantifying the Anthropogenic Contribution to Climate Change”. Better yet, team up with Alan Carlin (he is retired) and include the economic effects of those changes and the costs associated with proposed mitigating efforts. With the economy the way it is with congress debating how to fix it, they might buy it. Alan should know how to write a proposal. I have been comfortably retired for a long time and continue to do my share of care-giving and will gladly help you with the technical stuff.

  15. Mark Hladik says:

    Bob,

    Have enjoyed virtually everything you post. You sound mathematical.

    If that is the case, I know that almost every area of the nation is looking for some type of Math tutoring, or perhaps you local community college would make a place for you to tutor Math students.

    I know that our bread & butter (local community college) is the “remedial” Math classes we teach. Over half the students in each class is/are adults, returning to school to improve/gain job skills.

    Hit me back if I can provide further info.

    Mark H. (regular WUWT annoy-er of Anthony!)

  16. Soren F says:

    Maybe help industry consider a climate-free line of green products, real-light-green?

  17. With your knowledge base and writing skills you would be a valuable addition to the staff of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works.

    Next January Senator Inhofe could be chairman again.

  18. All the best, Bob. May buckets of lucre appear in profusion.

  19. jorgekafkazar says:

    Good luck, Bob. I always enjoy reading your posts. If I knew a sure-fire way to make money, I’d already be doing it. I’m currently writing novels, plays, and screenplays. So far, no actual money.

  20. Taphonomic says:

    But I keep hearing from a certain mann that all skeptics are funded by Big Oil, eeeeevil corporations, and the Koch brothers. Why can’t you get in on this largesse?

    More seriously, years ago it was an acceptable practice to write directly to authors and politely request that they send you a reprint of an article they had published (authors usually get a few hundred reprints). This was before the current advent of so much online publishing and paywalling, but it still may work. At the most you would be out the cost of a stamp, envelope, and a letter. On the other hand, if a good university is nearby, there is always the tried and true method of hitting the stacks in the library and photocopying a copy of the article from the journal (fair use applies).

    Best wishes.

  21. Gail Combs - NC USA says:

    Good luck Bob

    Once you leave the “Corporate World” for six months or more it is almost impossible to return.

    From the experience of my Hubby and I,
    If you have a masters degree, teaching in a community college is possible. A Bachelors in Science with good grades and math/science background could get you into a high school at least in North Carolina. Technical writing is about dead but rewriting papers for college students is not. If you have no Scruples there is the “Shadow Scholar” http://chronicle.com/article/article-content/125329

    Private tutoring is also very big. One we recently talked to was ALOHA Mind Math:
    “With the help of the abacus, it has created a whole new dimension in the field of teaching Math to young children.

    ALOHA’s whole brain development program has been accredited as “a perfect and solid foundation in Math for young children” by parents and teachers alike…” http://www.aloha-usa.com/?gclid=CNjDhb3Hp6wCFZJS7Aod5hVHDg

    If you get really desperate we have a spare bedroom on the farm. (Ask Anthony for my e-mail and show him this comment)

    However I am sure somewhere in the Skeptic community there is a businessman who will scoop you up ASAP. At least I hope so. If not then the USA is in a lot worse shape than I thought.

  22. dallas says:

    Bob, I happen to be one of those Tisdales from SC and wish you the best. It looks like NCAR may have some openings soon :). While the money is poor, I do enjoy playing restaurateur and fishing guide. Both leave plenty of time for other pursuits.

  23. Spinifers says:

    Well I don’t know how much money you’re hoping to make, but you could try Leapforce, evaluating websites for search engines (mostly google). Starts at 13.50 an hour, can go up 17.40 or so. Easy to get hired, work at home, but you must maintain minimum standards to stay hired, and so far for me work is available mostly between 0100-0600 (Pacific time). You’re hired as a contractor so you must manage your own taxes. Heh.

    I’m averaging 3.5 hours a day (seven days a week), sometimes less, sometimes a lot more. I’ve only been paid once (just started), but I can verify they DO pay, once a month. It has a lot of potential but it’s kind of frustrating how the number of hours is variable. I keep hoping hours will pick up.

    It’s interesting having an insider view of how it’s all handled. So far not nearly as bad as I’ve heard, but then, they consider wikipedia an ‘authoritative’ source, lol. But eh, it pays the bills. More or less. Might help while waiting for something better to come along, if you’re short on cash.

    Anyway here it is if you’re interested:
    http://www.leapforceathome.com/

    Feel free to email me if you want more information, spinifers at yahoo.com

    Best of luck to you, and thanks for all the posts — past, present and future! 🙂

  24. Thomas says:

    Bob, Could you email me a resume? Anthony, can you give him my email?

  25. Gary says:

    Bob, if you have any knowledge of higher education you might try for an analyst position in Institutional Research. Jobs are all over the US (http://www.airweb.org/?page=574). You certainly have the data skills. Contact me through my email address if you want to discuss.

  26. Theo Goodwin says:

    The person or company that gets you will be fortunate indeed.

  27. Allen63 says:

    I’ve sometimes thought, if my wife passed away (hope not anytime soon) and my pension were cut dramatically — what would I do?

    Could downsize my house to a normal one.

    Could marry someone who could afford herself and we could team up to get through life.

    I could try to go back to my former occupation. Having a good reputation, I might get a good job just minutes from my house. Certainly I had offers after I retired.

    But, if I needed a new field, and had the time to formally prepare, I think I would look into the medical field — probably as a technician or caregiver (becoming a full MD probably would take more time than I have left — and be net cost ineffective). No lack of technical/caregiver positions locally — some paying quite well.

    Just thoughts to add to the mix.

  28. Bernie says:

    Bob:
    I too have enjoyed your posts and your growing mastery of the subject. The only immediate suggestion I have is for you to append the software packages and tools you have mastered to your introductory post.
    You also have my admiration for doing the right thing by your parents.
    Best wishes and good luck.

  29. pyromancer76 says:

    Best wishes to you as you move into the next chapter in your life. Spouse and I are taking care of two mothers, gratefully, although not at home. Requires much time at a 24/7 nursing home for one completely, totally disabled and very frequent long weekend trips out of town to “live” on a daily basis with the other, much more capable, parent. There is much joy in being able to be of help at this time in their lives.

    I imagine many WUWT readers, as well as those of your own blog, will add to the tip jar to help you with preparations for the next stage. Many of us only wish it could be more, much more, and on a regular basis. Unfortunately….In any event, the skills you have developed should help you immensely in what you choose to do. Gail Combs advice and offer seem excellent.

    Again, the very best to you. I will remain a regular reader “forever”.

  30. charles gerard nelson says:

    Try earning a living doing something that doesn’t involve too much brain work and lots of physical activity…then when you get back to your beloved blogs you’ll feel fit and refreshed!

  31. I’m one of those who’s visiting through WUWT, so I’ve dropped a small contribution to your tip jar in case I don’t return. Your fields of interest need an extra set of critical eyes, so I hope you’ll carry on.

    As for ideas for income, I can’t help. My Usenet signature used to say NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI, Latin meaning roughly “nothing’s difficult for the one who wants it”. What you want is yours to make happen.

  32. Laurie says:

    Hi Bob,
    I had to retire a year and five months ago, due to my health. I was an accountant for nearly 40 years and it was hard to give up that part of my identity. I had been working a short schedule after having had a stroke (30 hours per week) and worked from home when I couldn’t go to my office. My doctor recommended that I work from home always, as my condition was unpredictable and dangerous and medications required made it dangerous to drive. He provided that information to my employer.

    Our entire department had turned over 11 key employees including the President, CFO, HR manager, Controller, Contracts manager, Purchasing manager, IT manager, due to a restructure that came from the forced resignation of the president and his replacement’s focus on the direction of the company. She had a team she’d worked with that she wanted to install. This was an NSF funded scientific organization associated with universities all over the world and began at the UCAR/NCAR facility. One by one, each employee was forced out. I had an agreement worked up under ADA guidelines but the director made it clear there would be no cooperation from her unless I was actually in the office. I didn’t have the strength to fight, so I retired. Though she questioned me about why I wouldn’t stay, it was clearly what she had in mind. She immediately hired a personal friend to fill my position. It stung for a while but that’s how it goes 🙂

    Some 30 years ago I ran a bridge club for fun. It was an activity I enjoyed and I was certified as a director. As soon as I retired, an old supervisor I had done voluntary bridge tournament work with on AOL contacted me to work with a very large online bridge site. She had been encouraging me to contact her when I retired. Players number 10-20k, 24/7. I was engaged to run tournaments 20 hours per week and I’ve been doing it since. My schedule is extremely flexible, I haven’t had to touch my pension and I do something I thoroughly enjoy.

    The point is, I urge you to consider work in areas apart from your former working life. Don’t rule out the possibilities of working at things you did for fun in your free time. My experience is extremely satisfying 🙂 And yes, I get a very nice direct deposit to my bank account every month.

    Good luck, Bob!

  33. kim2ooo says:

    Have you thought about local “Independent Living Services” – programs?

    You work a few hours a day – per client in your community, helping with everyday tasks. For full time work – take on more than 1 – 2 clients.

    Tudor at learning assistance labs in community college for re-entry students?

    These are jobs that are “work a-rounds” for schedules.

  34. Ken Stewart says:

    Best wishes Bob, and good on you for caring for your parents…. most wouldn’t. It’s a role reversal all right, one that my wife and I are getting used to (we have “officially” become carers this year after years of more and more intensive support). Can’t think of any job prospects for you here in Australia, except we’re on the look out for a new Prime Minister.
    In light of a couple of latin mottos above, here’s a version I like:
    “Nil carborundum illegitimi” – don’t let the bastards grind you down.

  35. Michelle says:

    Your reach is further than you may realise Bob. Have you dabbled with the idea of going west? I mean realllly west as in Western Australia! I’m in no position to offer employment but I can verify reports that the place is booming for anyone willing to venture out of their comfort zone. Anyway, all the best on whatever road you end up travelling.

  36. Given your interest, why not see what NOAA has for openings?

  37. Pingback: Bob Tisdale needs pastures new, can you help? « tallbloke's talkshop

  38. chuckarama says:

    What? I thought you had enough oil money to be in the 1% for the rest of your life. I’m sure I read that on Think Progress, Real Climate or some such place…

  39. JamesD says:

    Time to get some ACTUAL big oil money. Big oil (well gas) is booming. Check out the shale gas boom in PA, if you want to be in the NE. Technical writing is in high demand, especially due to reg compliance. “Management of Change” or “Process Safety Management” have a lot of job openings in the oil industry. Detailed oriented folks are needed. I’d be willing to contact you, but I need your email address. Good luck to you regardless.

  40. adolfogiurfa says:

    Dear Bob: In these “interesting times” we are living in, your story it´s a common place for many of us. As I am in the same “struggle for life” instead of being already retired, what I am doing is acting as a consultant, but having always present in my mind, to ask the maximum possible fee for my services (as these are not expected to be sold as “candies”) so I can have wait for the next one consultantship to appear; I am using also a salesman (kind of “manager”) in order to promote and sell my services. Now I understand what it means “time is money”: We have to wait, as a motionless predator waiting for its prey, for the next client. Here it seems to work the “law of three”:
    An active and attentive pursuit while “waiting” ( a pasive force) as everything would be already solved, and the hypothenuse: The power between the former two.

  41. Ninderthana says:

    Bob,
    I do not always agree with your analysis and conclusions [e.g. that the PDO is an aftereffect of ENSO, it’s not – as you will see when my paper on Lunar tides comes out next year].but I greatly admire the high quality and standards of your work. You are a true scholar and a gentleman and only a fool of an employer would not want to take you on for a job. Wishing you the best but please don’t take the job that I will be looking for over the next two months or so. .

  42. Bryan Short says:

    I’ll toss you a few bucks when I get paid on Thursday. I appreciate the work you do. You have a knack for getting to the bottom of things before you make a call on a subject. That is very refreshing in the politicized world of climate change science.

  43. To,
    IPCC, UNFCCC, GREEN PEACE, NSF, CARNEGIE Instituion of science and others; looking forward to hearing from all of you!!!!
    Chair person IPPAN, Kathmandu
    Copy to the director ICIMOD, Nepal.
    Dear Dr. Pachauri and Mr. Algore,

    Challenge to IPCC / UNFCCC, SHAME ON YOU
    Solution to CC and Power Crisis

    Please give me either one scientific reason/ theory that justifies CC is due to gases OR STOP ACCUSING GASES for CC. Just accusation is not science. CC by gases is impossible. Man has disturbed the ‘rain cycle’ causing the ‘climate change.’ No gas can be ‘green house gas.’
    I have also explained that applying the property / theory of standing still water column to the running water condition is the blunder being done in the ‘Hydropower Engineering’ and, its correction can give us unlimited hydropower.
    Please visit devbahadurdongol.blogspot.com for solutions to ‘CC and power Crisis.’
    Summary is attached for your convenience.

    Challenger,
    Dr. Dev
    Email: dev.dangol@yahoo.co.uk

    “Already sent to the addressees, green peace and many others throughout the world”

  44. Chad Jessup says:

    Bob, I don’t use paypal anymore since they want access to my bank account. Is there any other way to tip?

    Chad, it’s the only way I have. Thanks for thinking of me, though. Regards, Bob.

  45. agimarc says:

    Bob – Read your stuff at WUWT. Great analysis. Our prayers for you at your loss and change of life. Our youngest is a 25 year old CP guy who lives with us full time. He needs care 24/7. He is a Gift from God. We get some care attendant help around 7 hours a day M-F. If you like taking care of folks that cannot care for themselves, there is an entire handicapper community out there whose parents and loved ones would cherish your loving care and expertise. Note that this would be all ages of folks, rather than just the elderly. Pay is not great, but the work is steady and may make you smile. Our Little Guy brings tears of joy to us daily. Might be an option worth considering depending on what you are looking to do. Cheers –

  46. paullm says:

    Bob,
    It’s an nothing less than an honor to have connected with you through your blogs and now through a glimpse of your soul. The times are challenging and demand we all continue to contribute, as well as to survive! All the best in thriving on the challenge – for all the rest of us,too!

  47. Pamela Gray says:

    Who the hell is one-note Dev, but more importantly Bob, wanna date?

  48. doug says:

    Just increased your per post payout a small percentage. Hopefully, others will do the same.

  49. Brian H says:

    Dev is a thread-bombing loon, and should be banned everywhere.

  50. Bill Hudson says:

    I have expressed this idea to you before, maybe a year and a half ago, but at that time of course you were not looking. I believe that all of the research you have done could lead to a better understanding of the “teleconnections” between an emerging ENSO event(s) and their impacts on regional grain, oilseed, and sugar crops — and I think that that can be profitably marketed. Maybe I know how to do this marketing job, maybe I don’t. I do know that the talent you have displayed in the hundreds of posts is unparalleled in this field. Who else could have given an instant “peer review” to Roy Spencer, and be thanked for it?

  51. Evil Denier says:

    From across the Ditch – best of British!

  52. Jeff Larson says:

    Lynchburg, VA is a great place with several high tech companies that may appreciate your skills. I work at TRAX, International – we make simulators for the power industry and are marketing simulations of carbon capture, etc. There is also Areva, a leading nuclear reactor supplier, Babcock and Wilcox – now developing a modular nuclear reactor. I have appreciated your many contributions to our understanding of climate science.

  53. George E. Smith says:

    Bob,
    Good luck on the venture.. I know I keep getting you mixed up with somebody else; right now I can’t even think who that is because my short term memory keeps kicking out the Bob Tisdale card from the deck. You are one of the handful of posters at WUWT that I know I count among the reliable cognoscenti, specially when it comes to the oceans; and since I am always saying of the climate; IT’S THE WATER !! , then the oceans seem to be where most of that is.

    Regards
    George E. Smith

    ps, I’ll remember who that other chap is as soon as I exit from here .

  54. suricat says:

    Bob (Robert?) Tisdale,

    I’ve not read your blog before, but your name is ‘resonant’ around the blogosphere and I linked through to your site via ‘tallbloke’s talkshop’ from my personal ‘mild’ interest on ‘what’s going down in the blogosphere’ (a curiosity that I’ve recently acquired).

    Do you ‘really’ want to ‘care’ for ‘strangers’ that aren’t a part of your personal family? If you do, I’ll take my hat off to you, but the role of ‘carer’ is deeply involved with ‘unbridled commitment’ and a complete ‘waiver’ to the ‘health and safety’ for your own well being is ignored with family (perhaps a ‘moot point’). When it’s ‘family’, you don’t care (no pun intended), but when it’s not family, the HSE (Health and Safety Executive) tends to step in.

    My experience in the UK wasn’t/isn’t good, but I wish you great things in an, as yet, unwritten page of your life. If you ‘push’ I’ll explain ‘counter reasoning’ for ‘care for strangers’ in the UK.

    ENOUGH ALREADY. I, somehow, get the vibe that you’re leaving us. Many Latin quotes have already been said here, but I choose the UK RAF motto, ‘Par Ardua ad Astra’ (by our labours, to the stars). It seems appropriate. 🙂

    Why am I crying now?

    Best regards, Ray Dart.

  55. Joe Lalonde says:

    Bob,

    Would you believe science NEVER considered velocity?

    Click to access world-calculations.pdf

    Click to access world-calculations-2.pdf

    Easy now to map out the sun and other planets.

  56. suricat says:

    #comment-2603 posted by me doesn’t make sense and seems out of character. Could moderators please delete that post and this.

    Best regards, Ray Dart.

    Done — Regards, Bob

  57. suricat says:

    Thanx Bob. I’ve ‘cared’ for my Mom for many years (since I was 17, and I’m 60 now) and 24/7 care for the past 6 years without sufficient support during that period. I had to ‘walk away’ from her for her to get the medical attention that she needs here in the UK and I thank you for your understanding of my emotive response. I apologise for any disruption here, but ‘the needs of the many…’ is a harsh way to treat ‘the few’, because ‘the few’ becomes a ‘coercion’ to the ‘many’.

    I really just want to say ‘thanks’ for your editing when my emotions just ‘ran away’ with me. 🙂

    Best regards, Ray Dart.

  58. dallas says:

    I might have an idea Bob, http://redneckphysics.blogspot.com/2011/11/radiantion-versus-conductivity.html There is an interesting relationship with Antarctic conductivity around the temperature of -20 C, which you may be able to sort out with sea surface temperatures. I doubt it will make you much money, but it seems to be a big chunk of what is missing in the Greenhouse theory.

    Enjoy

  59. dallas says:

    Bob,

    This provides a little more detail for the above. http://redneckphysics.blogspot.com/2011/11/thermodynamic-layer-convergence-and.html
    I really don’t have the skill with the data sets to get into much ore detail but the impact could on the order of 2.5 x 10+22 joules per year. Not particularly insignificant.

  60. tallbloke says:

    Hey Bob, good on you for looking after your folks in their old age. My parents live nearby and we’ll be doing the same when the time comes. Your abilities as a communicator and teacher will be appreciated by whoever is lucky enough to take you on, if you haven’t found a self employed income by the time you need the cash.

    Good luck to you in great measure.

  61. lapogus says:

    All the best Bob, just keep blogging whenever you can.

  62. Mr Lynn says:

    Re JamesD (November 8, 2011 at 6:47 pm) and the boom in Pennsylvania, news reports say that there are lots of opportunities in North Dakota and Texas, because of shale oil. Forget the Northeast; go where you can angle park in town.

    /Mr Lynn

Leave a comment