>Animations of Ocean Heat Content, Depth-Averaged Temperature, And Sea Surface Height

>OPENING NOTE

I created two animations and discovered a third while I was trying to find a way to illustrate a specific process. I haven’t been successful in showing that process, but I’ve elected to post the videos for those who would like different views of other ocean processes, currents, and the like.

UPDATE January 28, 2010: In a later post, Animation Of NODC Ocean Heat Content Data (0-700 Meters) 1955 to 2009, I used the mapping graphics capabilities of the KNMI Climate Explorer to create another OHC animation. I’ve linked it here for convenience. It’s much better than the animation of the maps provided by the NODC.


YouTube Link
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VNefCmc3_1Y&NR=1

Hopefully, Sebastian Krieger will monitor this post occasionally and answer any of your questions about the video, especially those questions pertaining to Kelvin and Rossby waves.

About Bob Tisdale

Research interest: the long-term aftereffects of El Niño and La Nina events on global sea surface temperature and ocean heat content. Author of the ebook Who Turned on the Heat? and regular contributor at WattsUpWithThat.
This entry was posted in Ocean Heat Content Problems, OHC Update. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to >Animations of Ocean Heat Content, Depth-Averaged Temperature, And Sea Surface Height

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a comment