eBooks by Bob Tisdale

My ebooks are now available free of charge. 

Sales of my ebooks (and tips) allow me to continue my research into human-induced and natural climate change and to continue to blog here at Climate Observations and at WattsUpWithThat?

The hyperlinks in the following are to the webpages that further describe the books.

  • NEW:  Climate Models Fail was first published in September 2013. Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00061] It illustrates and discusses the many flaws in the climate models prepared for the IPCC’s 5th Assessment Report.  Climate Models Fail is Now Free. Copy here.

 

 

  • Who Turned on the Heat? was published in September 2012.  Who Turned on the Heat CoverIt is a very detailed introduction to, and discussion of, the coupled ocean-atmosphere processes that drive El Niño and La Niña events and cause El Niño and La Niña events to the be one of the primary causes of global warming over the past 3 decades.  Who Turned on the Heat? – The Unsuspected Global Warming Culprit, El Niño-Southern Oscillation is Now Free.  Copy here.

 

I also really appreciate tips. They help allow me to continue my research and blogging.  PayPal donations/tip link.

Thank you for your support.

Bob

# # #

UPDATE: 30% of my before-tax personal income from the sales of my ebooks (my profits from .pdf edition sales and my royalties from Amazon Kindle edition sales) from November 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013 will be donated to the Philippine Red Cross disaster relief for the victims of Typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda.

# # #

UPDATE 2:  The donation was made on January 1, 2014.

About Bob Tisdale

Research interest: the long-term aftereffects of El Niño and La Nina events on global sea surface temperature and ocean heat content. Author of the ebook Who Turned on the Heat? and regular contributor at WattsUpWithThat.
This entry was posted in Essays & Books. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to eBooks by Bob Tisdale

  1. Pingback: ENSO Basics: Westerly Wind Bursts Initiate an El Niño | Bob Tisdale – Climate Observations

  2. Pingback: ENSO Basics: Westerly Wind Bursts Initiate an El Niño | Watts Up With That?

  3. Pingback: October 2013 Sea Surface Temperature (SST) Anomaly Update | Bob Tisdale – Climate Observations

  4. Pingback: October 2013 Global Surface (Land+Ocean) Temperature Anomaly Update | Bob Tisdale – Climate Observations

  5. Pingback: October 2013 Global Surface (Land+Ocean) Temperature Anomaly Update | Watts Up With That?

  6. Pingback: Open Letter to Lewis Black and George Clooney | Bob Tisdale – Climate Observations

  7. Pingback: Open Letter to Lewis Black and George Clooney | Watts Up With That?

  8. Pingback: November 2013 Sea Surface Temperature (SST) Anomaly Update | Bob Tisdale – Climate Observations

  9. Pingback: Open Letter to the Executive Producers of YEARS of LIVING DANGEROUSLY | Bob Tisdale – Climate Observations

  10. Pingback: Open Letter to the Executive Producers of YEARS of LIVING DANGEROUSLY | Watts Up With That?

  11. Pingback: I’m Retiring from Full-Time Climate Change Blogging | Bob Tisdale – Climate Observations

  12. Pingback: Oh Damn …. I Missed This …. Bob Tisdale Retiring From Climate Blogging | suyts space

  13. Jack Kelly says:

    Bob, I am a novice to global warming and I found your book on enso absolutely fascinating. Your illustrations were superb. You made a technical subject easy to understand. what struck me most was something from my days as a six sigma black belt. I learned that sub-grouping of data is a good way to understand root causes. Aggregated data can be very misleading since underlying process variability is masked. Your sub-grouping of the oceans opened my eyes. Obviously there are several sub-processes effecting weather and each of them need to be understood. If the global warming models cannot predict the sub-process result, the y, they do not know the x factors and therefore they have no understanding of the process.
    Great book!

  14. Bob Tisdale says:

    Jack Kelly says: “Aggregated data can be very misleading since underlying process variability is masked. Your sub-grouping of the oceans opened my eyes.”

    Thanks, Jack. On the other side of the coin, global warming enthusiasts accuse me of cherry-picking subsets.

    Regards

  15. Pingback: Open Letter to Jon Stewart – The Daily Show | Bob Tisdale – Climate Observations

  16. Pingback: Open Letter to Jon Stewart – The Daily Show | Watts Up With That?

  17. Pingback: If 99 Doctors Said… | Bob Tisdale – Climate Observations

  18. Pingback: If 99 Doctors Said… | Watts Up With That?

  19. Ian says:

    Bob,
    I’m new to this debate (where have I been you might ask?)…led by a trail of breadcrumbs from Simon Carr, to Donna Laframboise, Judith Curry and finally to you.
    Being a lapsed physicist, I’ve found your blog and books (which I’m still working through) extremely helpful in getting up to speed.
    I applaud your rigorous approach (one man’s cherry picker is another man’s freedom fighter) and your tireless application.
    Please continue the good work and I hope you will come back to full time participation when funds allow. To that end, I agree with Roger Pielke Sr. that you should publish – it seems you would have a lot of support.

  20. Bob Tisdale says:

    Welcome aboard, Ian, and thanks very much for the kind words.

    Regarding publishing my findings in peer-reviewed journals, I have a different opinion. A couple of papers by me would add little to the discussion. The greatest hurdle is letting the public know that the AGW hypothesis is flawed. Only then will the climate science community clean up their act.

  21. Ian says:

    Bob,
    Regarding publishing (February 6, 2014 at 11:06 am), I now agree with you.
    My apologies, but I hadn’t realised in my absence from the scientific community how much the currency of peer-reviewed publishings has become under-valued. Some of the lack of rigour is astonishing.
    PS. Now finished your books – you’re a genius. When this particular climate crisis is over (and before we move onto the next one) I hope that your work is recognised.

  22. Bob,
    As an old “hand” in the global warming debate ( in 1972 I overheard some participants ,bankers not scientists, at an early UNEP meeting in Nairobi discussing the dangerous character of carbon dioxide) I downloaded your excellent book to use in discussions with my grandchildren. As they seem to understand that something is wrong with IPCC’s party line. Thanks.

  23. Bob Tisdale says:

    Thanks, oebele bruinsma. Glad to hear your grandchildren are seeing flaws in the IPCC.

    Regards

  24. John R T says:

    Bob;
    For several years, I have followed your work: thank you.
    Over forty years ago, I returned to what became VCU, after a brief interruption for USAR AIT. I was in Biology, but switched to English Lit. [The sciences helped me in my later work in wastewater management, and recently in grasping a bit of the maths and other climate aspects.]
    Robertscribbler echoes the character Bartleby Scrivener; almost two centuries ago, C. Dickens commenced his very successful writing career. Fiction published, serially, in the popular press led to his novels. Reading Robertscribbler’s confection and the comments carried me back to my imagined reconstructions of reading societies in Dickens’ England. Fiction is a powerful tool.
    Robertscribbler, ethnomathematics [Agenda 21], Ravetz [post-normal science], and Lewendowsky’s poison comprise, are parts of, the attack on civilization. Your clear exposition of ocean dynamics and effects on weather/climate are crucial to the defense of observation and analysis as tools for understanding.
    I am in Costa Rica [home of C.Figueres, exec secy, UNFCCC]. When I return to the States, I will buy a couple of your works. Again, Thank You, for the valuable contributions.
    best regards, John R T Moore

    p.s.: can you ask Steve McIntyre to up-date your link in his blog-roll?

  25. Bob Tisdale says:

    John R T, thank you for the kind words.

    Cheers

  26. Pingback: Big Green Hypocrites — Part II | No B-S here (I hope)

  27.   D  o u  g   C o t t o n says:

     
    THIS IS CRITICALLY IMPORTANT INFORMATION

    In a perfectly insulated sealed tall vertical cylinder with 80% pure nitrogen and 20% pure oxygen (closely approximating dry air) the Second Law of Thermodynamics can be used to explain why a density gradient and a temperature gradient will evolve as the state of thermodynamic equilibrium is approached. When that state is reached, the addition of new thermal energy at the top of the cylinder, even though it may not raise the temperature there above that at the base of the cylinder, will result in the transfer of thermal energy from the top downwards to warmer regions until a new state of thermodynamic equilibrium is attained having the same temperature gradient as the initial state but a higher overall level because the new energy has been uniformly dispersed. This is how the energy absorbed from solar radiation at the top of the tropospheres of Earth, Uranus, Venus and other planets moves downwards towards warmer regions. In effect, gravity has trapped thermal energy over the life of the planet. For more see my Amazon (and Kindle) book “Why It’s Not Carbon Dioxide After All.”

     

  28. Donald Morton says:

    Bob
    I have just discovered your ebooks “Who Turned on the Heat” and “Climate Models Fail” and have purchased them. I would like to reference both in a revision of my essay on “Will a return of rising temperatures validate the current models of anthropogenic global warming?” that I contributed to Climate Etc on Dec 15. Please tell me how I should describe the publisher and place of publication in a formal reference. Thank you
    Don

  29. Bob Tisdale says:

    Hi Donald. Thanks for purchasing my books. Formal reference? I had to check online and used the “APA Style Guide” suggestions for Amazon Kindle books as a guide.
    http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2009/09/how-do-i-cite-a-kindle.html

    Tisdale, Bob (2012). Who Turned on the Heat? [pdf version] Retrieved from Climate Observations. https://bobtisdale.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/everything-you-every-wanted-to-know-about-el-nino-and-la-nina-2/

    Tisdale, Bob (2013). Climate Models Fail [pdf version] Retrieved from Climate Observations. https://bobtisdale.wordpress.com/2013/09/24/new-book-climate-models-fail/

  30. Robert Lyman says:

    Bob, I am a retired energy economist and policy advisor to the Canadian government who has worked in the field of climate and energy policy and programs for over 25 years. I have been conducting research and writing about this topic and seeking to improve my understanding of the scientific issues. Ii doing so, I have found your articles and books extremely helpful. Frequently, however, when I quote one of your works, I am confronted by the ad hominem attacks (on me and on you) that so typify adherents to the theory of catastrophic anthropogenic global warming. They typically question your academic credentials and/or experience upon which you can claim expertise. Would you please post some information here about that?

  31. Bob Tisdale says:

    Hi Robert. While I use my real name, I have attempted to maintain my anonymity. I will continue to do so.

    In another light, I present data and climate model outputs that are readily available online. The only expertise required is the ability to use EXCEL. In other words, anyone can do what I do. This isn’t rocket science.

  32. Way Way OT: Bob, Thank you so much for your generous help in the past(especially with references and links to ARGO and stationary buoy links)

    Earlier this evening in a conversation with my wife, the topics turned towards parsecs(the distance at which the mean radius of the earth’s orbit subtends an angle of one second of arc) as they often do in casual conversation among married folk O_o (I will stick with that story for now because how this came up in conversation would take far too long to explain and would be less believable)

    Mean Radius – hung in the air

    The fact that we use a Mean Radius in parsecs means that arc distance is shortened and lengthened just as orbital speed is increased and decreased.

    Are you aware of any studies that take into consideration the effects of approach and egress by our earth’s elliptical orbit, atmospherically, seismically, sea level, currents etc…

  33. Bob Tisdale says:

    Paul in Sweden, I’m not a follower of those studies, but you might try TallBloke’s TalkShop:
    https://tallbloke.wordpress.com/

    Cheers

  34. WHO CONTROLS CLIMATE GOD OR MAN? BY STEVE FINNELL

    Can man control the earth’s climate, or is God in control of the weather? Do man-made carbon dioxide emission control the climate of the earth or does God control the weather? Who created the weather, man or God?

    Genesis 7:4 “For after seven more days I will cause it to rain on the earth forty days and forty nights, and I will destroy from the face of the earth all living things that I have made.”(NKJV)

    Question: Did man-made CO2 emissions cause it to rain forty days and forty nights, and destroy everything but what was on the ark with Noah?

    Matthew 8:24-27……26 But He said to them, “Why are you fearful, O you of little faith? Then He arose and rebuked the winds and the sea. And there was great calm………(NKJV)

    Questions: Did man-made CO2 emissions cause the storm. Did man calm the storm by controlling their carbon footprint?

    Job 37 1:24…. 6 For He says to the snow, ‘Be on the earth’: Likewise to the gentle rain and heavy rain of His strength……(NKJV)

    Question: Do men have the ability to control the climate by controlling man-made CO2 emissions?

    Psalm 135:6-7 Whatever the Lord pleases He does, In heaven and on earth, In the seas and in all deep places. 7 He causes the vapors to ascend from the ends of the earth; He makes lightning for the rain; He brings the wind out of His treasuries.(NKJV)

    Question: Can men control the climate by controlling man-made CO2 emissions?

    Who is in control of the climate, God in heaven or puny men on earth?

    [NOTE: Carbon dioxide is not a pollutant; neither is oxygen nor water. CO2, O, and H2O are necessary to sustain life.]

    you are invited to follow my blog. http://steve-finnell.blogspot.com

  35. Bob – I am reading Who Turned Up The Heat. You have done a brilliant job describing the underlying ocean mechanics underlying the various terms and processes used in climate science. Your combination of illustrations and explication allow me to understand complex and dynamic ideas with relative ease. I respect and appreciate your work. Thank you.

    I have editing feedback for you as I read. In service of your project, please contact me to give me some mechanism through which I can give you my feedback. mark aght beautifulprofit.com.

  36. Bob Tisdale says:

    Hi teloscientist. Thanks for the kind words. You’re more than welcome to leave editing comments on the thread for the book.

    Everything You Ever Wanted to Know about El Niño and La Niña…


    Do you want me snip your email address from your comment?

  37. Janice Moore says:

    Hi, Bob,

    I’ve been schlepping your books over on WUWT today and have a suggestion:

    add to your “Categories” column (on right of this page) a cross reference to this page (ebooks by Bob Tisdale): Books. I missed the reference called “Essays and books” and found this page by searching a little. And everyone else could find it that way, too! 🙂 Just a possible help to promoting your fine work.

    Oh, and also, putting all (or several) of your books back on the home page top banner

    OR

    A bold “Find All Bob Tisdale’s Books Here” (or something like that) on your homepage (top) might be helpful.

    Go, Bob!

    Please forgive me if my Christmas e mail to you (sent 2 times, just in case…) was offensive. I hope you can overlook my mistake. I won’t do that next year.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Janice

  38. Bob Tisdale says:

    Hi Janice. Thanks for the thoughts.

    Happy New Year back atcha.

Leave a comment